Listening

“The subconscious is ceaselessly murmuring, and it is by listening to these murmurs that one hears the truth.”-Gaston Bachelard
 
Frustrated. This morning wasn’t going right. Woke up late for work ((which is almost always the case)), couldn’t find the “right” outfit to wear so I just threw something on, and my favorite CD I own decided it didn’t want to work on my 30+ minute drive to work. I sat there silently, frustrated with things. So, I rolled down my window and just listened to everything around me. At first it was boring ((I NEVER drive without music)). Then, I realized something. There is no such thing as silence. Even in the most quiet places there is still a hint of sound.
If I could have closed my eyes, I would have sat there all morning just listening.
Every engine sounded different from the next.
All the birds were chirping.
Brakes were squeaking.
Wind was blowing.
Music was playing.
Tires were taking off.
Horns were honking.
And they all were orchestrated perfectly.
 
As long as your ears are hearing, listen.
As long as your eyes are viewing, see.
As long as your limbs are functioning, feel.
As long as your lips are moving, speak.
 
We take all of this for granted every single day. We put our priorities above living. We think our lives have to be one big blueprint with everything mapped out. Don’t lose your ambition for goals you have already set, but live along the way.
Image

 
2 thoughts on “Listening

  1. Casey, I really love reading whatever it is you’re writing….You are sooo talented!!! I am so glad that I have gotten to “know” you so well thru facebook. I love seeing your pictures and reading all of your posts!!! Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

