Why I Became a Veg-Head

Almost every single time I tell someone that I am a vegetarian, they ask me why I do it. I usually just tell them that it’s because I don’t like most meat ((which is true)) and that it’s a healthier lifestyle ((which it is)). I keep from them the truth because most people think I’m crazy.

If you think it’s because of the way the animals are treated, you’d be right.

I know that I am only one person and I cannot change the world, but I can stand behind my morals and beliefs. That alone reaffirms my choices and why I stick to it. This lifestyle is defintely not for everyone; humans are carnivores by nature. I would never force my choices onto someone else, that’s just not me. The only thing I like to suggest to people is to eat cage-free ((preferably local)) meat. Of course it is much more expensive than factory-raised meat, but it is proven to be healthier and better quality. Not to mention you’d be supporting local growers.

This route cannot always be taken considering our economy today but there is another alternative. Eating a meat-free meal is A LOT easier than you think. It IS possible to achieve satisfaction without consuming meat.

I do get teased A LOT because of my eating habits but I don’t let it bother me. I know who I am and I am so passionate about this subject that I will never regret it.

This video is one that I presented to my speech class last semester. It is extremely disgusting in every way so if you have a weak stomach, don’t press the play button. I know what you’re thinking, “this girl is REALLY off her rocker”. But if more people knew where their meat came from, I think they might make the same changes that I have.

http://youtu.be/ybPFzRr-TzU

Leave a Reply

