There is no other life than this

You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life than this.

-Henry David Thoreau

Lately I’ve talked a lot about optimism, its power, and how I try to find it in every day. This quote reiterates just how beautiful that process can be. If I could meet my 16-year-old self, I would read her this quote. She was angry and broken and negative. I wish I could tell that girl that you only have one life and you’re living it all wrong, that if you remain selfless you can find your inner peace. And that all of these petty things will disappear when you pull the wool from over your eyes. I am indifferent to my past. All I have is now. All I need is now.

      Through my camera lens

3 thoughts on “There is no other life than this

Leave a Reply

